Wrecks to Success: The Boxing Glove Cake

Francesca does my nails.  I’m weird about them.  I spend a lot of time pointing at stuff (for clients, other coworkers) and one day I was showing a client a real property plan and was pointing out, I don’t know, it could have been the drainage ditch, and I noticed he was staring intently at my icky fingernails.  I vowed to get a manicure immediately.  That was five years ago.  I’ve had my “nails” ever since.  I don’t spend a ton of money on my hair, or my makeup, but the nails are my indulgence.  I keep them short so I can work easily in the kitchen, and they always look nice.  I like that about me and I won’t apologize for it.

Fran is also pretty awesome.  Having a regular relationship with your nail person is basically like going for therapy every three weeks.  She listens to me moan about things that I really don’t get to complain about to anyone else.  Don’t get me wrong, it works both ways, but truth be told, Fran listens to a lot of my crap.

When she asked me to help her surprise her BF with a birthday cake, I was so excited.  We started planning well in advance of the big day (she’s like me, she’s a planner: I like that about Fran).  Part of the plan required her to take some top secret recon photos of the cake subject – the boxing glove.  Fran’s BF is a boxer, you see – and he has a pair of gloves that she thought would make a great cake.  She emailed them to me well in advance of the big day and my research started. 

It was decided that a chocolate  fudge cake would be carved to shape and a dark fondant applied to give the cake that “glove-y” look (but without the glove-y taste, you know what I mean?).  No RKT was used in this bad boy.  That’s all carving, thank you very much.  I even wrote his name in edible marker to resemble how he’d written his name on the real thing.

Here’s the finished product next to a printout of the real thing (photo with my blackberry – sorry if it’s grainy):

Super fun cake to make and definitely falls in the “win” category.  It was pretty easy to do, everything worked out with it, and she was absolutely tickled pink (see what I did there) when she picked it up.  Best of all (and I wasn’t there, but I’ve been told) the BF didn’t understand at first that it was a cake.  I love hearing stuff like that.  I’m so very proud of this one.

Leave a Reply

