Project: Purple Bread

So you may know I was recently in Maui for my good friend Michelle’s wedding.  I’ll post more about that another time (including pictures of the adorable cake topper – and the DELICIOUS WEDDING CAKE).  The purpose of this post is to talk about one of the neat baking discoveries from when I was there.  When I want to know something about anything, I go to the usual place: Google.  Google tells me the purple bread I fell in love with was Hawaiian Taro Sweet Bread.

Picture courtesy of www.girl-loves-food.blogspot.com

Coated in butter – so delicious

The bread gets its purple hue from poi, which is like a guacamole made from the corm of the taro plant.   Taro is a root vegetable that grows all over Hawaii, with about 5 or 6 million pounds of taro being produced on the Hawaiian Islands each year.  That’s a lot of poi. 

My mom and I took a tour of a tropical plantation on Maui and got a little bit of information on taro from our tour guide.  He says nearly the entire plant is edible.  The leaves are useful, right down to the root – which is white with purple flecks (you may recognize this one from your bag of vegetable chips).  When it is boiled and mashed, to make poi, it becomes a beautiful purple colour.  Hence the purple hue of the bread.

Pineapples and everything else you could think of

My plan is to find and execute a recipe that tastes as good as the taro bread I tried in Hawaii.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

