Wrecks to Success: Fortune Cookie Cupcake Toppers

When I was still new to fondant and marzipan I had a little mini-success with some cake toppers I was making for a themed dinner party.

My good friend Malinda introduced me to Hot Pot a few years ago, and I find it to be a great way to host friends, so we do it quite often.  The blonde and the brunette also really like it, and so it’s a good supper option (and gets the vegetables in without too much fuss).  Hot Pot is essentially a Chinese fondue.  And it is awesome.

Dessert at this one particular hot pot extravaganza was a guest request – red velvet cupcakes.  So I made marzipan fortune cookies (and even inserted little fortunes).  I think they turned out great.  There are lots of things I would do differently, if I were to undertake this project again, but overall I’m pleased with the result.

Leave a Reply

