Tools: Disaster, The ECBF Does Dishes

For those of you who think the ECBF is perfect, you’re right.  He is.  He cooks for me, takes care of me, and pretty much just is a wonderful guy.

What you don’t know is that he has a dark secret. 

It took a lot of soul-searching for me to work up the nerve to blog about this – but I’m about to let the cat out of the bag.  He sucks at doing dishes.

That is totally fine, don’t get me wrong!  If he makes dinner, I don’t have a problem volunteering to do the clean up (and between you and me, that’s my preference, so I can avoid the disaster situation that I’m about to describe to you).

Last summer I treated myself to a new KitchenAid mixer.  The professional series, a bigger bowl and heartier attachments than what I had previously – AND with one other additional benefit – it doesn’t hop up and down the counter top and make a horrible grinding noise like the old one did.

I picked up Melody (the mixer) in the states on a shopping trip with the ECBF and brought her home to use immediately.  I rinsed all the attachments and pulled together an old stand by recipe that I love to make,

While I was at work the next day, the ECBF did the dishes.  He loaded the dishwasher, turned it on, and well…I’m sure those of you who know your KitchenAid’s well are already gasping in anticipation of the next part of the story.  He washed Melody’s parts in the dishwasher.  Do you know what happens to treated metal in a super-high temperature dishwasher?  Yup.  They were goners.

Sigh.

I wish that were the only major incident.  But in the course of about 3 weeks, he had single-handedly destroyed at least 5 different “favourite” kitchen tools of mine.  He’s such a good guy.  I hate to complain about things he does to help me.  I’m a terrible person.

Melody got new attachments.  It took about a month for them to come in.

Leave a Reply

