Tools: Fondant Mat

When I was at Cake Love 2012 I got to talking with the folks from Cake Mischief.  If you aren’t familiar with them, you should definitely check out their site, they have a lot of great cake decorating products (and I spent a lot of money at their booth at Cake Love – you know I love my tools).

I’ve already told you about my butter measure, which I love (and I didn’t happen to get it from Cake Mischief, but that’s neither here nor there), but my SECOND FAVOURITE tool of all time has got to be my fondant mat.

I’ve had a few fondant mats over the years.  My first was this crummy plastic paper-y one from Wilton (sorry Wilton, this product was not a winner).  It didn’t take long for me to wreck it.

In my hunt for a better fondant mat, I came across a pastry mat at a kitchen supply store here in Winnipeg.  It was cheap, it was huge, and it seemed like a good idea at the time.  The problem with it (as I soon found out) was that it hadn’t nothing to adhere it to the table or counter work surface.  So, essentially, it was like trying to roll fondant on a block of ice.  I got into the habit of either using sticky tack (which wasn’t perfect) to adhere it to the table – but that was a pain, then I got into the habit of using painter’s tape to tape it to my table – but I mean really – how much effort is required to roll a piece of fondant?

Well.  In comes this Ateco Fondant Mat.  It is honestly one of the greatest things to happen to my kitchen.  The sticky surface backing allows it to adhere to the table, and the smooth top gives me a perfectly rolled fondant.  It has measurements all along it so I know how big the piece is that I’m rolling, or if I’m working on some smaller details I can keep them consistent with one another.  This thing is also a dream to clean.

Check out Cake Mischief.  They have good stuff and they’re really nice people.

Remind me to tell you about that tool kit – but that’s a post for another time.

Leave a Reply

