The Wilton Method

Confession time.  I’ve never taken a Wilton cake decorating course.  Gasp.

I thought about it.  For a long time.  And it’s not one of those things where I said I would do something and then never got around to it (if you know me, you know I get around to things, I always do).  And I’ve certainly benefitted from Wilton over the years, from website, their products, and their magazines from time time.  But here’s the thing that might be controversial –  I don’t believe they make the better product.  I think they make the products they make accessible to the masses, but that’s not the same thing, is it.  It’s still important – especially at a time when cake decorating is a hot topic, with lots of new hobbyists every day, but if I have the choice between Wilton and Fat Daddios or Wilton and Ateco, or Wilton and pretty much any other brand – I’m going to make the other choice.

I’m not drinking the Wilton koolaid, let’s just say.

If I don’t post again after this, it means the Wilton Cake Cops found me and shut me down.  Tell Carl I love him.

Leave a Reply

