Tools: Boxing Glove Cake (Ball Pan)

Since I posted about it, a lot of people have been asking me about the boxing glove cake.  It was pretty easy to do, thanks to my Wilton Ball Cake Pan.  We all know how I feel about Wilton, but I needed this ball pan for another project I was working on and so despite my misgivings I went ahead and ordered it.  When it came, sadly, it wasn’t at all what I needed for that project but since then I’ve worked with it several times with quite a bit of success.

The ball pan is useful, particularly when making  a rounded shape.   I used it on the What’s Up Doc cake and the Yo Gabba Gabba Cake.  Oh yeah, and I used it on the Boxing Glove Cake!  It’s easy to use, easy to clean, and just generally a perfect shape for so many projects.  If you can get your hands on one, it’s a good tool in the baking aresenal.

Leave a Reply

