Project: Butterfinger Brownies

On Wednesday I told you about my butterfinger brownies.  These were somewhat Galen inspired (I love you Galen). 

I didn’t adequately adjust my time in the oven for the reduced size of the brownie so I fear that the brownie base of these bad boys was overdone.  That being said, I was having a conversation with my fitness bestie and she informed me that her favourite part of the brownie is the outside part.  Well these little guys are all outside part

The brownie base is baked, and then a yummy gooey peanut butter custard is baked on top.  THEN, just when you think it can’t get any better, the whole thing is dunked in a milk chocolate ganache and then crumbled butterfinger is sprinkled on top.  Seriously, this is a bite-sized piece of heaven, on a slightly overdone brownie base.

You’ll see in the background that the TV is on.  The ECBF and I are deeply engrossed in watching Lost.  We didn’t catch it when it was on originally, and we’ve been working our way through the seasons thanks to Netflix.  Love that show.  I can’t believe I missed it the first time around.  I didn’t get what all the hype was about…and now that I do?  I have no one to talk to about it.

I love to watch TV while I bake.  My favourite thing is to throw on Mystery and have Law & Order on while I’m whipping, stirring, mixing and moulding.  Is that weird?  Law & Order is my all time favourite show.  So formulaic, but yet, so perfect.  Kind of like a great recipe.  If you’ve got a great recipe, and you follow it to the letter, you’re going to end up with a great product every time.

2 thoughts on “Project: Butterfinger Brownies

Leave a Reply

