August Long Weekend: Lemon Caramel May Long Cookies

I had the time and the ingredients to whip up two batches of May Long cookies in advance of this weekend’s jaunt to West Hawk Lake to visit with family.  I made a more traditional May Long Cookie – three types of chocolate chip, chopped walnuts, coconut, and I also made a lemon caramel variety.  You’ve heard me mention the lemon chips I found recently at Bulk Barn – and they are versatile.  I had a bag of Kraft pre-pealed caramels in the pantry and I thought they would go great with the lemon flavour, and I think I was right.  If you’re able to get your hands on these Kraft caramels, I highly recommend them.  There’s nothing worse than the bloody fingernails you get from trying to peel that clear plastic wrap off of a hundred Kraft caramels to make, let’s say, a cheesecake.  I mean, come on, it takes forever, it’s unpleasant, and why the hell do they have to be individually wrapped like that in the first place?  Am I right or am I right?  Well these pre-peeled versions are fan-tastic.  They are even in small little balls, so they’re great in a cookie recipe, easy to use, easy to measure, etc.  Unfortunately, like so many great food products, they’re only available in the US as far as I can tell.

I wish I’d snapped a picture of these bad boys before my brother wolfed them all down.  Oink oink Jeffy.

In other news, I totally left my camera behind at the cottage so there won’t be any picture posts for a while, at least until I get my camera back.  Ugh,  Talk about bad luck.

Leave a Reply

