Recipe: I’m Nuts About Scattered Seeds

It’s scary to say this, but Christmas is right around the corner.  Yikes.

I was at Galen’s this weekend and all the Halloween candy is out and wow, you know what’s next.  Seriously?  The boys aren’t even back in school yet!

When Fall hits I start thinking about my Christmas baking list.   The ECBF makes two requests: mixed nuts and something I hate to refer to as “Better Than Sex”.  Something about having a treat with “sex” in the name at Christmasstime makes me queasy.  So at home, and especially around the blonde and the brunette, we refer to it only as “BTS”.  We talk in acronyms a lot, as I believe I’ve already told you.  BTS, however, is a post for another time.

On to the nuts.

Scattered Seeds is a great local craft show held out at Red River Exhibition Park.  This year it’s in October (19th-21st), and if you’ve never been and you’re closeby, you should definitely check it out.

One of the booths where I seem to spend a lot of money is Tasty Tidbits.  They make pre-packaged and mixed seasonings for cheeseballs, dips, etc.. among other things.  There are more than a dozen great flavours, from ranch to dill and from savoury to sweet.  What I use their seasoning packets for, is MY NUTS.  The ECBF can’t get enough of roasted mixed nuts (or Chex Mix as it is sometimes called).  I make huge batches, over and over, and he gobbles it up.  I used to give it away to people, but I don’t seem to ever have anything left now that he lives with me.

Here’s what I do:

Tasty Tidbits Mixed Nuts

1/2 cup EVOO

2 TBSP worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

dash sea salt

1 packet Tasty Tidbits seasoning packet (any flavour – within reason – will work – we like the Dill, the Mexican Fiesta, and Ranch)

Mix all together in a saucepan over low heat and then pour over 12 cups of nuts/cereal/pretzels/whatever in a large roasting pan, tossing so everything is covered nicely, then pop into the oven at 250 for an hour and a half or so, tossing every 15 minutes.  I usually do chex, almonds, pistachios, and pine nuts. 

I let it cool on the stove overnight before putting it in an airtight cereal container.  Now, I’m not sure if this will happen at your house, but it seems to me that the batch seems to shrink overnight.  Secretly, I know it’s the ECBF, but I prefer to think that little elves come and snack in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

