In the Interests of Full Disclosure: Time Management

This not having a camera thing made me awfully contemplative.

The most common question people ask me is: “where do you find the time?”  It’s true – I do a lot of stuff.  I have a more-than-full-time job, I teach several fitness classes a week, I bake, I blog, and I have a family, house, and dog.  The question is faulty I think.  I don’t find time anywhere, what I do is try not misplace the time I already have

Time is a pretty precious commodity.  That’s true for all of us, no matter what we do in our lives.  And it’s so easily wasted, mis-spent, misplaced, and generally abused.  We abuse our time ourselves, on the internet, watching TV, napping (and please don’t misunderstand, all of those things are super important – and there’s a place for them in every single day), and we let others abuse our time too.  I guess if I try to stay focussed on what needs to get done, then it does just get done.  If I deal with the time abusers (and my own time abuse) in as efficient a manner as possible, well then, time (or the lack of it) seems to just take care of itself. 

I remember when I was a kid, my mom never sat down to watch TV.  If the TV was on and there was a show she/we wanted to watch, she was ironing, baking, doing something at the same time.  When I watch TV (and believe me, I like to watch TV), I’m always doing something else too.  Blogging, baking, organizing (never ironing, mind you, I hate ironing).  My point is, she never sat still.  She never needed down-time.  And maybe that’s hereditary?  Because I don’t really ever seem to need it either.  I’d much rather be doing, going, being.  That’s just who I am.  There’s always something to be done.  Now that I type that though…I wonder if it’s actually an awful curse?  I think I need a nap.  I just tuckered myself out. 

 

Leave a Reply

