Dulce de Leche

So our good friends at Eagle Brand have come out with a new product and I think it’s going to be AWESOME.  Eagle Brand Dulce de Leche is just what I’ve been waiting for.  Have you ever tried to convert regular Eagle Brand to dulce de leche?  You basically cook the sweetened condensed milk until it caramelizes.  Sounds easier than it is.   Truth be told, it’s kind of a pain.  BUT NO LONGER.

My plan, and it’s a good one I promise, is to make the May Long cookies with the fancy Eagle Brand.  Triple chocolate, caramel (you know the stuff – the good Kraft pre-peeled stuff), and pecans.  So far, I think this is a recipe for success.  Let’s put it into practice, shall we?

So here’s the can.  Fancy.

Here’s a peak of my ingredients.  I’m sure I don’t need to tell any of you how important it is to measure everything out first before you get to mixing.

Hot out of the oven. 

They baked a little smaller than they often do.  It depends on the temperature of my butter, I’ve figured out.  If I use colder butter, they spread right out.  Tonight I happened to take the butter out with plenty of time to let it come to room temperature on the counter before mixing.  So… they stayed relatively cookie-ish.  The ECBF likes it when they spread out and the caramel on the edges gets crispy.  I prefer these rounder versions.  To each their own I suppose.

Anyway my favourite part – packing them up into the rubbermaid (out of sight out of mind).

I made these for my friend Florence for her birthday.  Hers got a special little package.  I think the pink gives it a little something special, don’t you?  I know, I’m a dork.

I love stickers.  Almost as much as I love baking.

So the low-down on the cookies:

They have a caramel flavour, that’s for sure.  They make what is already a pretty special cookie, a little more special.  Would I do this every time?  Probably not.  But I can see a lot of useful applications for this sweetened condensed (flavoured) milk.  Bravo, Eagle Brand, bravo.

Leave a Reply

