Experiment Number One – Easy Lasagna

Our first experiment was a modification of a Sneaky Chef recipe – and it was supposed to be easy.  A one pan/pot lazy lasagna.  When I got home from work, a little later than planned, the ECBF was freaking out about not being able to find some of the ingredients.  I should have known this is where we were going to go off the rails.   The lasagna is to be done in the skillet on the stove – easy enough – but with 2 little boys just home from their first couple days of school and homework, and soccer, and an assortment of other things going on, maybe it wasn’t the best day to be experimenting.  Nonetheless, the ECBF was well into the meal preparation (among all the other things that were going on around the house) and I ran to the pantry with my coat still on to try and find what he was still missing: oat bran.  I was sure I had picked up everything we needed when I was at Galen’s on the weekend… but I guess I didn’t remember the oat bran.  So…looking for a quick substitute, I pulled out what I thought would do, psyllium.  That’s a fibre thing right? Psyllium?  What is that even?  I wish I’d wikipedia’d it right then and there, but alas, I did not.  Guess what happens when you add psyllium to a liquid, say, tomato sauce?  Oh, I don’t want to ruin the surprise, you’ll have to read on..

So the ECBF tosses the psyllium (er…oat bran) and the lasagna noodles into the mix and covers the pan and we wait.

This is where it gets interesting…

When it was time to uncover our masterpiece, it looks…gelatinous.  Being brave, and trying to downplay the severity of the situation, I put a spoonful of the sauce in my mouth.  And then I promptly spit it into the sink.  It wasn’t the taste so much…but the texture.  Ick ick ick.  The psyllium basically turned the tomato sauce into jell-o.  Tomato flavoured jell-o?  Ick ick ick.

Well I was not going to be defeated on our first mission of Operation: Vegetables (help me out with a new mission name, would ya?).  No way.   After coating the whole thing in cheese in an attempt to hide the wiggliness of the sauce, I splattered 2 heaping servings into the boys’ bowls and (because I had to, because of what this was) two platefuls for me and the ECBF.  Ick ick ick.

We sat down, fully prepared for battle royale, lasagna-style, steeling ourselves for what was sure to be the dinnertime war to end all dinnertime wars.  Well guess what?  They ate it.  They even went back for a second helping.  A SECOND HELPING?  Unheard of in this house.  Mission One was a success <insert huge sigh of relief here>.

We managed to squeeze 4 servings of vegetables into each of their dinners.  There are carrots, sweet potato, cauliflower, zucchini, spinach, broccoli and peas in that lasagna.  Yeah buddy.  Point for KK.

Leave a Reply

