Pumpkin Season is Here

Secret time. I had not one but two cans of pumpkin in my pantry from last year. Unlike what my mom used to tell us, canned goods do not last forever. After confirming I had about a week left to use those suckers, I set about finding a recipe or two in which to use them.

These are their stories.

Whoops sorry – as you can see, my long weekend was spent watching a Law & Order marathon. 

Seriously.  Here we go:

The blond wanted to make something pumpkin-y (pumpkinny?), so we set out to find a good pumpkin square recipe.  One of my favourite places for squares recipes is the Eagle Brand website.  They know their squares.  And, as far as I’m concerned, anything containing sweetened condensed milk is good stuff.  We locked in on a pumpkin pie square recipe and went to work.

You can find the recipe here.

The blond is a pretty good helper in the kitchen.  He likes to do all the big jobs – nut chopping, egg cracking, stirring.  All I have to do is measure and pour, really.  These squares were a cinch to put together, and while they were baking (and afterwards) smelled delicious.

While we’re in full disclosure mode – can I let you in on another little secret?  I don’t make my own pumpkin pie.  Sigh.  I know I know.  But if you’ve ever made your own pumpkin pie (and I mean really made your own, from scratch – meaning a PUMPKIN, not a can of pumpkin), you’ll understand this: Safeway does it better.  Sorry Galen, I love you man, but your pumpkin pie can’t beat Safeway pumpkin pie.  Even Sobey’s doesn’t have anything on the Safeway pumpkin pie, in my opinion.  My birthday is in October, and I have, for as long as I can remember, had a Safeway pumpkin pie in lieu of a birthday cake.  There, that answers the age old question: who bakes your cake on YOUR birthday KK?  Now you know.  Safeways.  I’m also a bit of a snob when it comes to the topping.  I don’t want chocolate shavings messing up my oh so yummy real whip cream.  Just a dollop of slightly under-whipped whip cream on top of a slice of Safeway pumpkin pie and I am in heaven.  Now you know.  Judge me as you see fit, I can take it.

Leave a Reply

