Recipe: Ginger Snaps

We’re getting closer to Christmas.  Can you believe it?  Ugh.  I can’t even begin to deal with that.  That being said, I managed to whip together some ginger snaps this weekend after a short visit to my home turf (Bulk Barn) where I picked up some candied ginger.  You see, the candied ginger is the secret to my ginger snaps.  Well, that and the sea salt, but we’ll get to that in a minute.

I was never a ginger snap fan growing up.  We never had them in the house, and no one in my family made them at the holidays.  So when I wanted to try my hand at making them, I really had no idea what they were supposed to taste like or look like.  I did some google research and found a recipe or two to try and after a couple test runs…and some minor modifications, this recipe is what I think makes the best chewy, zing-y, ginger snaps.  Why are they zing-y?  Hello… how’s your memory – candied ginger!

This recipe is originally from a website called tastebook.com and I found it back in 2009 – but I checked today and the site and the recipe are still there.  My modifications are below and in parentheses:

1 cup sugar (I replaced a 1/4 cup of white with light brown sugar)

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup molasses (I used 1/2 cup)

(1 tsp lemon juice)

1 egg

2-1/4 cup flour

2 tsp baking soda (I used 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder)

1 tsp cinnamon (I doubled)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

(1/4 cup plus 1 TBSP finely chopped candied ginger)

(extra cane sugar, granulated sugar and sea salt)

In large bowl, cream sugars, butter, molasses, lemon juice and egg until light and fluffy.  In separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda and powder, cinnamon, salt, ginger, cloves and nutmeg and candied ginger.  Add to batter; mix well.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.  Shape dough into balls, roll in sugars/salt mixture.  Bake on ungreased sheets at 350 for 8-12 or until set (convection 325 – 9 minutes).  Cool one minute and remove to wire racks to cool completely.

When you mix the pinch sea salt with the cane sugar and regular granulated white sugar and then roll the cookies in it before baking, you end up with a salty-sweet combo that goes so well with the zing of the candied ginger.

My almost-Christmas gift to you.  Enjoy!!!

Postscript: these cookies freeze really well.  Just pop them in a trusty rubbermaid container and in the freezer (once cooled) and they’re good for a couple months.  I usually make these first in my Christmas baking and freeze them until needed.

Leave a Reply

