Recipe: “Chex” Mix

Not long ago, I posted about the Scattered Seeds Craft Show.  I love that craft show.  One of the booths that is a must-visit for me is the Tasty Tidbits lady.  These little spice packets are meant to be used for dips or cheese balls, but I’ve found a handy use for them all on my own. 

Tasty Tidbits

When I met the ECBF, I had made a batch of this nut mix (it may have had “Chex” cereal in it, I’m not sure), and he loved it so much that he ate an entire container in the course of 2 days.  That’s 12 cups of cereal and nuts.  I mean, that’s commitment to a snack, right?  I think it was this commitment to his snacking that made me sure he was the one (no, not really).

I’ve made many batches of this mix since, and the ECBF always dedicates himself to it.  He loves it.  The recipe is simple, and if you’re concerned about sodium or oils in your house, then this is a good way to modify the salty snacks so you can control what goes into your family.

The original recipe is a modification of something I found online ages ago, but it has since changed so many times that I can’t even recall how the original recipe looked or where I got it from.

KK’s Holiday Nut Mix

1/2 cup EVOO
2 TBSP worcestshire sauce
1 Tasty Tidbits Seasoning Packet (any flavour will do, but favourites at our house are Dill Delight, Mexican Fiesta, Cool

Ranch)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
12 cups cereal and nuts, pretzels, whatever

Place the cereal/nuts in a large roasting pan. Heat everything but the cereal in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the mixture is hot.  Pour over the cereal/nuts and toss until well combined.  Bake in oven at 250 for an hour or an hour and a half, stirring every 15 minutes.  You’ll know if it needs to bake a little longer if it still seems “oily”.  The seasoning has to dry into the cereal/nuts.

Chex Mix

Leave a Reply

