Recipe: Peanut Butter Marshmallow Fluff Coconut Cookies

I’ve heard tell of this mystical elixer called “marshmallow fluff” many times.  I thought it was urban legend (no, I didn’t but really, I couldn’t find it anywhere).  Then I found it at Galen’s.  OMG.  This will change my life, right?  It has been sitting in the pantry for a couple months, just waiting for the perfect moment.  Well today is that day.  You know how much I love those few and far between alone moments when the boys aren’t here, the ECBF is away, and I have the house (and most importantly, the kitchen) to myself?  Well one of those moments presented itself today.  I heard the door close this morning as the ECBF took off on a business trip.  As soon as I heard the cab drive off, I was out of the bed and into the kitchen.  Now, please keep in mind, it isn’t so simple as throwing something delicious together.  First, I have to clean up the mess of whatever happened in the kitchen the night before (or, sometimes in the case of the ECBF’s late hours – in the night).  That generally means unloading the dishwasher, reloading it, and disinfecting every surface.  Twice.  Sometimes it means using the edge of a knife to chip dried on (insert whatever you want here) from the countertop.  Once that’s done though, I’m ready to roll.

Marshmallow Fluff

Today I decided it was time to put the marshmallow fluff to the test.  I’m meeting a friend for dinner later and I’d like to have a bag of cookies for him to take home.  I can’t recycle the leftover Christmas baking that’s been freezing in a container in the garage since December, right?

Ok, thanks to my trusty research assistant, Google, I found something interesting on food.com: Peanut Butter Marshmallow Fluff Coconut Cookies.  Yup, that’s the one.  You can go there for the recipe, but I did modify it slightly, so I’m going to reprint it (with my slight modifications) here:

Peanut Butter Marshmallow Fluff Coconut Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 cup peanut butter

1-1/3 cups a.p. flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp coarse salt, divided

3/4 cup marshmallow fluff

1 cup sweetened medium coconut flakes (or slightly more)

Preheat oven to Convection 325.

In a large bowl, cream together butters and sugars until smooth and fluffy.

Beat in the eggs one at a time.

Combine the flour, 1 tsp of the salt, and the baking soda, then add to peanut butter mixture.

Fold in marshmallow fluff until just combined.  Be careful, this stuff is sneaky and hides in the bottom of the bowl.

Combine remainder of coarse salt with the coconut in a small bowl.

Using a cookie scoop, scoop out your ball of cookie dough and then dip the scoop into the bowl of coconut so what will be the bottom of the cookie is coated in coconut.  Release the dough onto your ungreased cookie sheet.  Repeat until your sheet is full.  They should be placed at least an inch apart.  Sprinkle coconut onto the tops of each ball of cookie and then use a fork to press them down.

Bake for 13 minutes (modify if not using convection).

DSC_0309

Note: I usually use convection when I bake cookies.  The fan circulates air throughout the oven while the baking is happening.  This allows me to bake multiple sheets at the same time, they bake faster, and I find that the cookies themselves cook more evenly than when I just use my regular oven.  If you plan to try convection cookies, keep in mind your cooking time and temperature must be modified.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Peanut Butter Marshmallow Fluff Coconut Cookies

    • We’re happy to have you here Kristine! I can’t wait to check out your blog, we do a lot of gluten-free in our house (despite my love of baking, my body hates the grains). Welcome!

Leave a Reply

