The Secret to the Perfect Peanut Butter Cookie

Ha!  Had you clicking quick for that one, didn’t I?  I do, my friends, have the secret to the perfect PBC.  Want to know what it is?  Are you ready?

Fine Sea Salt.

No joke.  I add fine sea salt to a sugar and cane sugar mixture (quantities vary but it’s approximately, 1/2 cup granulated white sugar, 1/4 cup cane sugar, and a teaspoon of fine sea salt.  Then, I roll my peanut butter cookies in it before placing them on the cookie sheet and applying the criss-cross fork pattern.

My favourite peanut butter cookie recipe comes from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook – you know the one, everybody’s mom has it – and I have my very own copy.  The cookie recipes in it are all good – and there are a few really great appetizer recipes in it too.  For that matter, I’ve never made anything out of the cookbook that isn’t great.  But I have to say, by far the best recipe in the whole cookbook (of 1000+ recipes) is the peanut butter cookie.

The only variation I make from the originally printed recipe, is to add about a half teaspoon of fine sea salt and a half teaspoon of cane sugar to the white granulated sugar I roll the cookies in before baking.  I promise, you won’t regret it, even if it sounds a little gross.  The saltiness on the outside brings out the peanut butter flavour in the cookie.

These cookies went so fast I don’t even have a picture of them.

Leave a Reply

