Recipe: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I make a lot of cookies.  Lately I have been, anyway.  They’re easy for around here.  The boys love them, they’re easily transportable to bring to work, or put in lunches for school, and they’re relatively versatile – I can think of a million cookie combinations, can’t you?

Today the guys were off ice-fishing so I took advantage of the solitude to whip up something for them to enjoy when they got home.  I find that one of the tastiest cookies to enjoy warm is an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie.   I didn’t want to make anything peanut-buttery because I wanted to send some with the guys to school on Monday (and nuts are a no-no).

I got this recipe from my good friend Judi.  She got it from one of those great community club or church cookbooks.  The recipes in those collaborative cookbooks are always SO GOOD.  This was her tried and true oatmeal cookie recipe so she gave it to me.  The only change I made to it was to add a little bit of salt.

Recipe

As I’ve mentioned before, this is how I keep my recipes, in a binder, with notes in the margin (when I last made them, who liked them…etc…).  The little zebra post-it indicates that the brunette thinks these cookies are pretty awesome.

I love when a recipe tells you how many servings it makes.  I especially love that Judi jotted in the margin that it makes 3 dozen.  I got a little closer to 5 dozen out of this recipe, using my medium cookie scoop.

Thank you to Fiona Peters (whoever you are) for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

