I Said I’d Do Healthy Right?

A few posts ago (VEGAS BABY) I blogged about that blinkin’ Vitamix.  What is it good for?  Adult slurpees.  You know what else it’s good for? Soup.  It’s really good for soup actually (and ice cream, as it turns out, but that’s a post for another time).

I was inspired today by a post by fellow blogger Cookie Chick.  She’s a vegan foodie with a pretty neat blog, I recommend you check her out if that’s the type of stuff you’re looking for – because she has lots of great posts.  I’ve used her Peanut Butter Frosting recipe before, and it’s a good one.

Back to the soup.  I liked the idea of using up a whole bunch of vegetables taking up room in the fridge and on the verge.  You know the ones I’m talking about, right?  You’re at the grocery store, maybe even the costcos, and you’re hit with a sudden wave of healthy and so it seems completely reasonable to grab 6 pounds of cauliflower, 3 bags of broccoli florets, and 30 yellow onions.  I can’t be the only one this happens to.  And then what happens?  We eat our usual junk that’s quick and easy for 2 weeks and realize we have a whole bunch of vegetables in the fridge on the verge.  Verge vegetables.

Well this soup is a perfect way to deal with the verge vegetables.

verge veggies

This can’t qualify as a recipe – I didn’t measure anything so I can’t even really tell you how much of what I put in there, but this souper soup (see what I did there?) contains the following:

A whackload of each of these:

Roasted cauliflower

Steamed cauliflower

Roasted broccoli

Steamed broccoli

2 large carrots, roasted

a head of garlic, roasted

10 or 15 mushrooms, roasted

raw baby spinach (maybe 2 or 3 cups) *Tip: make sure you rinse it, even if it’s “pre-washed”

baby spinach

one yellow onion, pan fried in some olive oil til clear

onion

Organic vegetable broth (maybe a cup?)

All the water from steaming and roasting

some garlic salt, onion powder (maybe a tsp of each), a little basil, salt and pepper to taste

blend the whole thing for a few minutes and serve!

DSC_0463

There.  Healthy recipe from the Vitamix?  Check.  Wait, what?  Is that a dollop of sour cream?  How did that get there?  Wow, this is awkward…

3 thoughts on “I Said I’d Do Healthy Right?

  1. They have some other awesome soup recipes in their book. We’ve had the baked potato bacon and the cheese and broccoli. My FAVOURITE by FAR, is the cheese sauce! No more standing over the stove and trying to make the perfect sauce. It cools quickly, but it’s not lumpy and YOU DON’T HAVE TO WATCH IT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

