Project Pressure Cooker Cake (or “Ugh” Cake)

The ECBF and I got into pressure cooking a couple years ago when I started eating a more paleo diet.  We love the pressure cooker, especially in the winter – there are so many great things to make in it, hearty soups and stews, quick roasts, yummy chicken – you name it.  What I never thought I would ever make in my pressure cooker was a cake.

I found a recipe a few months ago that has always intrigued me, called Mexican Impossible Cake.  It isn’t what I made today, but it’s what started this fascination with pressure cooker baking.  I often check out www.hippressurecooking.com for pressure cooker ideas, and today’s project comes to us from them as well: Upside Down Apple Peach Ricotta Cake.  I happened to have none of the ingredients on hand, so it was a convenient Saturday morning project (ugh).  What got me thinking about it was that I had a container of ricotta in the fridge and a half a can of diced peaches.  I knew there had to be an apple in there somewhere too.  But, when I started rooting around with the project on my mind, it turns out I was woefully mistaken.  Ricotta expired in December, peaches were fuzzy (and not in the good way), and the apples were all eaten (ugh).

I packed myself up and headed to the safeways.  On the way there, I got caught in a water main break on St. Mary’s – which the freshly washed MINI did not enjoy… (ugh).

Back at home we were in the midst of a homework meltdown.  What is it with homework?  I don’t remember having homework as a kid…not this much anyway (ugh).

Back to Project Pressure Cooker Cake.  What I absolutely LOVE about this recipe is that it is essentially one bowl, stir with a fork, simple.   All the wet ingredients go together, all the dry ingredients go together, sift together, stir.  Add your fruit and you’re done.  I added some peaches in lieu of apple, because I had it in my head when I woke up that that was what I was going to do.  Then you prep your pressure cooker.  You need a little water at the bottom of it, and then I overturned my metal steamer so the cake pan had something to rest on top of.

DSC_0845

To make it easy to pull the baked cake out of the pressure cooker when done, I built some handles out of tin foil for lifting.  I realize I didn’t get a picture of that, pre-bake (ugh) – so here’s a sneak preview of the finished cake, post-bake:

DSC_0855

Look at all that beautiful steam.  The house smells heavenly.  For all the “ughs” I seemed to say this morning, I’m pleased with how it looks so far.

Ugh Cake

Ugh Cake

The final ugh?  The ECBF HATED it.  Like, truly couldn’t stand it.  I thought it was fantastic.  Really light flavour – the texture was extremely moist – a lot like a bread pudding – and it was overall just a really nice cake.  Not like a cake, but a cake nonetheless.  Yeah, he thought it was gross.  The blond tried it and liked it.  Sort of – he hates peaches.  Ugh.

P.S.  Thoughts on my picture taking ability?  Improving isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

