Recipe: Coconut Cream Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had it in my head to make cookies using coconut cream in the batter.  I think I’ve mentioned before that the blog that started it all was Sugar Plum. She’s the reason I started blogging, and I’ve loved every single recipe of hers that I’ve ever tried (without exception).  I went to see her first.  She has a relatively recent post featuring coconut cream in a cookie batter but it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for.  I have bookmarked that recipe to try later, but I was still on the hunt.   That’s when I stumbled upon this one.  Also not exactly what I wanted but close enough that I could work with it.  In my mind I thought Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips (and I had just procured some from a recent trip to Deluca’s grocery) and coconut batter and coconut pieces were an excellent combination.

I made the batter by mixing the butter, coconut cream, and both brown and white sugars.  Adding the eggs next, I then added in both vanilla extract and something I picked up at Home Sense that looked intriguing, called coconut emulsion.

Coconut Emulsion

(Alright, not the clearest picture, but wait til you see how the picture of the cookies turned out…)

The batter smelled wonderful.  The ECBF thought it smelled like the beach (go figure).

The cookies themselves turned out beautiful but they didn’t taste exactly how I’d hoped they would.  The milk chocolate overpowered the coconut, and really made them just a little too sweet.  Good news though!  That was post-baking taste-test.  The next day, they tasted perfect.  The chocolate flavor mellowed, and the coconut flavor was just right.

If I do these again (and I think I will), I will cut back on the chips, or switch to semi-sweet, leaving more batter and less chocolate.  It’s the actual cookie part of the cookie that makes this recipe shine, in my opinion.  Speaking of shining, look how shiny the batter baked on these cookies – they are really beautiful.

Shiny Happy Coconut Cookies

The recipe was adapted from Bake Something.  Here’s what I did:

Coconut Cream Milk Chocolate Cookies

2-1/2 cups flour (sifted)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

½ cup butter, softened

one can coconut milk, separated in fridge (only use the thick stuff, toss the water)

1 ½ cups brown sugar

½ cup white sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp coconut emulsion

2 cups shredded sweetened coconut

1-1/2 cups milk chocolate chips

Sift dry ingredients together (flour, bp, bs and salt).

In stand mixer, cream butter, sugars, coconut milk until fluffy.

Beat in eggs one at a time, then add vanilla and coconut emulsion.

Reduce mixer speed to low then add coconut and chocolate chips.

Cover dough and chill for approximately one hour.

Using cookie scoop, drop tablespoonfuls onto a lined baking sheet allowing room for spreading (about 2 inches).  Bake 14 minutes at 350.  Allow to cool on sheet for only two or three minutes and then remove to wire baking rack to cool completely.  Store at room temperature in a sealed container.

Thanks so much to Bake Something for the original recipe.  Her inspiration (as did Sugar Plum’s) came from Trader Joe’s.  We don’t have a Trader Joe’s – but I’m planning to visit one in a couple weeks, stay tuned for some interesting baking following that shopping trip!!

Leave a Reply

