Cadbury Creme Egg Cupcakes

DSC_1233

In theory these cupcakes were a fantastic idea.  In practice: not so much.

You may recall that a while back I posted about my Surprise Pan, which is what I thought I would use to bake these bad boys.  The surprise pan lets me stick the treat onto a spike in the pan so that it will stay suspended in the batter throughout the baking process.  What could be better than a creme egg suspended in the middle of a cupcake?

The creme egg cupcake recipe I was working from required that I first freeze the creme eggs, pre-baking, so that they would stay egg-shaped throughout the baking process, allowing for a creamy surprise for the taster when they bit into the cupcake.  So far so good, right?  Nope.

While the eggs were warm, I spiked them (as I thought this would be easier than trying to do it when they were frozen) and then I popped them in the freezer.  With me so far?  I froze the eggs overnight and in the morning when I went to bake the cupcakes, easy breezy, the creme eggs set onto the surprise pan spikes, no problem.  I poured the batter into the pan, I put the pan in the oven, yay!  Not really.

The ECBF demanded he be the first to taste these, and he bit into one, but I suppose it was the hole in the bottom of the creme egg that compromised the integrity of the filling.  Through that teensy tiny hole, all the creamy goodness of the creme egg leaked out during the baking process, and pooled in the bottom of the cupcake liner, making for a very sticky mess.  Now, don’t get me wrong, the Blond thought that was the best part of the cupcake, and it tasted great I’m sure – but it didn’t look pretty, and it certainly didn’t look like a creme egg suspended in the middle of the cupcake.

So…lesson learned.  Don’t get fancy with the surprise pan.  It isn’t always the best tool for the job.

The Blond wanted me to make an egg on top of the cupcake: what do you think?

DSC_1265

Leave a Reply

