Wheat Free Focaccia

I’ve posted before about how I feel about wheat.  Me – personally – how feel about it.  Obviously I don’t think everyone needs to feel this way – otherwise I wouldn’t be constantly baking things for everybody.  Anyway, I feel this way because I know how wheat, and grains generally, make me feel.

There’s a book I read last year that really helped me understand how my body copes (or, more accurately, doesn’t cope) with wheat.  So when I saw that the same author had released a cookbook, I had to have it.  In particular, I can’t really eat “gluten-free” foods because they seem to be worse for me than just eating whatever is in the gluten-version.  So if I want to have a piece of bread – I have to figure out a way to make it.  Well…the first recipe that jumped off the page at me was a recipe for Rosemary Focaccia bread.

I was out the door to the Bulk Barn before the ECBF even knew what was happening.

I picked up the ingredients easily with one stop to the Bulk Barn: almond meal, chickpea flour (I usually steer clear of chickpeas, but was willing to give this a shot), flax seed (again, a minor exception) and sea salt.

The recipe itself took 15 minutes to assemble and another 20 to bake.  I was so pleased with the result.  We snacked on the bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, but it could easily make a sandwich, or without the rosemary, french toast.  I think I’ve found my go-to bread recipe.  Really really pleased with the texture, the flavour, and the overall simplicity of it.

Focaccia DSC_0087

The book I’m talking about is called Wheat Belly, by Dr. William Davis and it can be found on Amazon, here.  You can also follow the Wheat Belly blog, if you’re so inclined.  The cookbook is the Wheat Belly Cookbook and I’m excited to try more recipes from it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

