Do you believe in magic?

I may or may not.  The “magic” to which I am referring is baking in the oven as I type this.

You’ve previously read about my good friend Florence here.  She is so thoughtful.  She found a recipe online that was relevant to the series of posts I have been doing about “Impossible Pie” – and she forwarded the link to me.  I am in the process of putting this recipe to the test, and my initial reaction is…well…not good.

I’ve  made some weird things in my day.  Some I blog about, some I don’t.  The interesting thing about this post is that I’m writing it before I know what the outcome of this recipe will be.  I’m also choosing not to post the link to the recipe until (and unless) I know the cake is going to be a success.

While we’re waiting for the results of this experiment, can we talk about beating egg whites for a sec?  I have, my entire baking career (which, as you know, has not been very long) absolutely despised the beating of egg whites.  So much so, in fact, that I have, until very recently, boycotted any recipe featuring such a method.  The ECBF loves him some Tweed Squares (and I’ll be posting more about those later, not to worry), so for the purpose of making them I had to become familiar with the egg white process.  For some reason, every time I have tried to attempt “stiff white peaks” I ended up with limp soggy foam.  Gross, right?  This includes the times I’ve made Tweed Squares, which may explain their high failure rate.  But then, a few months ago, I was determined to make a merengue work (which, as you know, requires mucho mucho beating of eggs) and I don’t know if it is the result of my super-duper deluxe KitchenAid Professional Series 6000 mixer, or what, but I finally had the ‘ah-ha’ moment of stiff white peaks.  And I have ever since that day (cue the angels singing).  

Doesn’t it feel good to accomplish something?  Overcome a nasty beast of a project that’s been biting you in the rear for so long?  

The 6000 is a lot of things to me – beautiful kitchen decor (it sits proudly next to my coffee maker), multi-functional kitchen tool (no explanation necessary), white noise machine (drowns out even the loudest Wii game being played in the basement) and therapeutic facilitator (set it to whip and watch – seriously, it’s like taking valium).  Now I can add “egg white beater” to the list of things this bad boy can accomplish.  Thank you KitchenAid.

TAKE THAT EGG WHITES.

Back to the task at hand.  This “magical” cake is a little bit more complicated than the aforementioned Impossible Pie – it requires several steps, but ultimately, the batter all goes together and in one place – your 8×8 square cake pan.  Well my batter was basically egg juice.  I can’t really explain it any other way.  I realize the end result is supposed to be a delightful custard filling with a topping and crust (a la Impossible Pie), but I really just do not see how it will be possible with what my “batter” looked like.  Believe me, you don’t want to see a picture of it.

(Through the magic of the internet (see what I did there?) we have now jumped in time to an hour later and the cake is out of the oven).

The cake looks…interesting.  All I can really see is the top, while the cake cools.  I suppose it’s safe to show you a picture now:

Magically Delicious?

Now on to the true test – the taste test:

MAgic Cake

No.

Just.  No.

I must have done something wrong.  But this is so very very wrong.  There are no words to describe the assault this cake has made on my taste buds.  Ick?  No – “ick” is not even close to what happened.  I actually ran to the garbage bin to spit it out.  I’ve never spit out anything.  Ever.  Cake is like french fries – even the bad ones are still edible.  Not this time.  Not this cake.  Not magical, not one bit.

But a valuable lesson has been learned here – you absolutely can not believe everything you read on the internet.

Leave a Reply

