KK – 2, Egg Whites – 0

Remember when I told you about my victory over egg whites?  Well I needed yolks only for the Paula Deen Black Bottomed Banana Cream (Creme) Tart recipe I blogged about recently and so I ended up with a cup of egg whites with no home (so sad…).

A great use for leftover egg whites is merengue or macaroons of some kind.  Unfortunately, most merengue cookies take a couple hours of bake time and resting time.  I wanted something quick and dirty as it was already getting late and I hate to throw out perfectly good anything, never mind those jerk egg whites.  I wouldn’t want to give them the satisfaction.

Of course, I turned to the internet to find  a recipe that would work for the amount of egg whites I had, plus it had to contain only ingredients I had on hand (i.e. no lemon or orange zest, like most I found seemed to want), and it had to be an hour or less from whipping time to being in my mouth.  Well I found it.

Here’s another egg white victory for you:

Coconut Macaroons

coconut macaroons

Booyah!

The recipe was courtesy of Italian Dessert Recipes and can be found here.  The only thing I did differently was to replace the 1/3 cup of granulated sugar with icing sugar.  I thought it would be lighter, and I think I made the right choice.  These are crispy where they need to be, chewy on the inside, and wonderfully coconutty.

TAKE THAT EGG WHITES

2 thoughts on “KK – 2, Egg Whites – 0

Leave a Reply

