Tools: Wilton Water Pen

I’ve got Wilton issues, that I won’t go into here, but I was shopping online for some baking-related goodies not long ago and this little nifty tool caught my eye, so I picked one up.

DSC_0210

Am I ever glad I did.

Sometimes, when I’m working with a lot of fondant detail, I pour a little ramekin of water and get a trusty paint brush to help.  You affix the fondant pieces to the cake with a little water – works like a charm.  The problem with this set up is that I am the queen of clumsiness, and as it happens more often than not (especially with my wobbly dining room table), I knock the stupid dish of water over onto my work surface.  Insert shrieks and “omgs” and you have yourself a full-scale cake-trastrophe.

The beauty of the water pen is that it holds the water in a tank within the brush itself, so all you need is a little squeeze and just the right amount of water goes into the brush.  I used it for the first time this weekend and it was fan-tastic.

Following with the theme of cake-tastrophes, I need a line on a new cake leveler.  I won’t go into details but we’re about to rename my future bakery, “Stumpy’s Patisserie”.

Leave a Reply

