The problem with blogs

I love baking.  I love blogs.  I love blogging about baking, and blogs.  So I do.

Everyone needs a hobby, right?  No, seriously – everyone needs a hobby.  This world would be a wonderful place if we all had an outlet.  I know people who have nothing other than their jobs and their friends/family.  That’s it.  Now, don’t get me wrong, that can be very fulfilling.  But what do you do when you’re sick of your job (which happens from time to time, to all of us) and your family is driving you nuts, and your friends are busy with their own lives?  Where do you go?  Some people go to the gym.  Some people like to shop.  I like to bake.  I can completely tune in to my baking project and be as happy as a clam, with my Law & Order marathon on in the background, and my sweats covered in flour.  Oh man, now that’s the stuff.

The problem with a blog about baking is that now my problem is this: when I want to bake – I go into the pantry and I try to find some inspiration and I am compelled to bake something new – something I’ve never tried before.  I feel this obligation to do something new that I’ve never tried before – so I can blog about it.  Now that’s great, and it has definitely pushed me to try new things and take risks, and take on projects that I might have been scared to try before.  But… sometimes I just want to go to an old standard.  You know, peanut butter cookies, or vanilla cupcakes, or something simple and tried and true.  The guilt is though, if  I am going to go to the trouble of baking something, it might as well be something I can blog about.

Well not today my friends.

I give you the most vanilla of vanilla bake projects.  Vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream.

DSC_0217

Leave a Reply

