Recipe: No-Allen-Key-Required Cookies

Seems to me that cookie butter is turning up every where these days.  It used to be that I couldn’t get my hands on any unless I could get to a Trader Joe’s in the US, but now it’s everywhere I turn.  I saw a jar at Walmart recently, then I saw some at the Costcos (Cookienotti), and then yesterday Ikea had some.  To be fair, the Ikea stuff isn’t a cookie butter – but a nutella-esque type spread, called Chokladkrokant Bredbar (chocolate flavor spread with butterscotch pieces).  Ummm…yummm!  So of course I bought it.

chokladkrokant bredbar

Look how happy that wave of chocolate is.

The ECBF laughed at me, because having gone from no jars to probably a dozen different kinds in the pantry in less than a couple weeks, well, that’s his definition of hoarding.  Pshaw.

Well the ECBF is off fishing today so I decided to whip up a batch of Chokladkrokant Bredbar Cookies.  But where to start?  I Googled it, of course.  You know me, you can find anything you want on the internet.  Except this.  Hmmm.

Then I looked at some nutella cookie recipes, and nothing tickled my fancy.

This one I was going to have to figure out on my own.  I had the house to myself for a couple hours, a Law & Order marathon on tv, what better way to spend a rainy afternoon, right?  So blissful I was, whipping and blending, and baking, I had forgotten about all of the ‘tastrophes of the weekend (which I will tell you about in upcoming posts, not to worry).

Long story short – I’m very pleased to present to you – KK’s Chokladkrokant Bredbar Cookies (or, Ikea cookies – no allen-key required):

DSC_0038

KK’s Chokladkrokant Bredbar Cookies

1/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup Chokladkrokant Bredbar spread

1/2 cup granulated sugar (plus some for rolling)

1/2 cup golden yellow sugar (or brown is fine)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1-1/2 cups all purpose flour

In a stand mixer, beat butter and Chokladkrokant Bredbar spread.

In a separate bowl, whisk together sugars, baking soda and baking powder.  Add to mixer and beat until combined, occasionally scraping sides of the bowl.

Beat in egg and vanilla until combined.

Add flour a half cup at a time until blended.  Cover and chill dough for one hour.

Preheat oven to 375.  (I used convection at 350)

Shape dough into one inch balls and roll in white sugar mixture.  Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet and flatten with the tines of a fork (criss cross pattern, like you do with peanut butter cookies – why do we do that?  That’s a post for another time…).  Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes or if using convection, bake at 350 for 7-9 minutes or until bottoms are lightly browned.  Transfer to a wire rack to allow to cool.

These are a flat, crisp cookie that should be soft in the centre.  If I make these again, I might try adjusting the time and temperature, and I might consider adding additional butterscotch pieces. The first few batches were a fail, but on batch 3 I think I was happy with the results.  I even ate two (which is not the usual for me).  Thanks Ikea!

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Recipe: No-Allen-Key-Required Cookies

Leave a Reply

