Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

I had leftover lemon buttercream from last week’s cupcakes and the ECBF and I were headed to our good friends’ Florence and Ben’s house for dinner on Friday night so I whipped up some plain jane vanilla cupcakes with the intention of using the lemon buttercream and bringing them for dessert.  But it dawned on me…why be simple when it’s so easy to be spectacular!

Strawberry seems to pair so nicely with lemon – doesn’t it?  A very summery flavour combination.  We had some nice strawberries in the fridge, sitting right next to the lemon buttercream, so I thought why not.  Before I knew it, I had the strawberries sliced up and in the saucepan with a heaping half cup of sugar, warming until it was a nice chunky sauce.  It smelled great.  I shifted the combination into the blender, pureed it, and then put it back in the saucepan with 2 tsp of corn starch, stirring until it boiled, and then removed it from the heat until it was room temperature and a little bit thickened.

DSC_0343

That recipe works with just about any kind of fruit.  And the consistency is perfect for piping into the centre of a cupcake.  In my next post, I’ll explain just how I do that.  It is so simple, you’re going to be filling every cupcake you ever make.

The inspiration for these cupcakes didn’t come from Tales From An Overtime Cook, but it may as well have.  Check out her post on Strawberry Lemonade Cookies here.  How cute are those?  I will definitely have to try them.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

