Recipe: M.I.A. Cookies

I know I know…I’ve been missing in action.

The past few weeks have been a blur, I’ve been so busy with work, home, workouts, etc… but I am BACK baby and I’ve been saving up a good’er for you.  But…you have to wait just a little bit longer.  To say this post will be a monster is, well, an understatement.  I am probably jinxing myself, as I’ve not yet baked the cake I am teasing you with – but it really will be a monster – literally.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Now, onto the matter at hand.  I’ve been a little under the weather and my doctor recommended a modified diet – so…that has meant doing a little less baking than I’d like, hence, the lack of posts.  But…you know me, always up for a challenge.  So I tried my hand at some gluten-free chocolate chip cookies using coconut sugar.  We were at the Costcos last weekend and I spied a gluten-free baking mix that I thought I would try out.

DSC_0049

I’m not usually one for baking mixes, but I figured, meh, it will be easy, and we all like easy, right?

KK’s “Good Enough” Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten-Free)

1 cup butter, room temp

1-1/2 cups coconut sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2-1/2 cups gluten free all purpose baking mix

1 package gluten free semi-sweet chocolate chips

Beat butter,coconut sugar, and baking soda until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.

Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined.

Mix in the baking mix 1/2 cup at a time until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded spoonful onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Note: you may need to flatten them slightly – they do not spread out like a typical cookie does.  I used the bottom of a slightly greased glass for this purpose.  You can even give it a light spray with some cooking spray to keep the cookie from sticking to the glass.

Bake at 375 for 12 minutes or until slightly browned on the bottom.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

DSC_0053 DSC_0056

The ECBF thought these were disgusting, and there’s a part of me that thought they were too, but given my restrictions lately, it was a decadent treat to eat a couple.  The Blond and the Brunette gobbled them up – and told me they were the best cookies ever.  Go figure.

Leave a Reply

