Wrecks to Success: It’s So Fluffy!!!

Work friend Sherry – maker of these awesome veggie muffins, asked for a (relatively) last minute birthday cake for her daughter, Carly’s birthday this past weekend and I was happy to oblige.  Sherry has been a good friend these past few months with work being such a gigantic pain in the neck, and other things going on – it was the very least I could do.

The request was for a unicorn.  It wasn’t entirely clear but it may have been inspired by the Despicable Me 2 movie.  This is one of the first times I’ve done a cake like this without being inspired by another cake.  This was all me, baby – and it felt good.

FLUFFY

After last weekend’s cake – which I didn’t love, and I was feeling kind of crummy about, this was a big win.  And I’m happy to report that I think I figured out what (what I was suspecting was) the problem: it’s a time-management thing.  I’m great at managing my time, don’t get me wrong – but I was putting these cake projects to the weekend, and then I’m up all night working on a project, and I have a limited amount of time, and it’s stressful, and then I rush…and then I’m unhappy because I rushed.

This time?  This time I took my time.  Even though the request was short notice, I started a week in advance.  And that was so helpful to me keeping my sanity.  I started on the body of the unicorn on Monday (delivery of the cake was the following Sunday) and  throughout the week worked on the gum paste components (horn, tongue, etc).  Friday I started on the flowers, and baked the cakes, and Saturday I had to cover with fondant and assemble for a Sunday pick up.  It was wonderful.

DSC_0001

The cake turned out wonderfully too – this is one of my favourites, if not my absolute favourite, for sure.  Tell me if you agree:

DSC_0057

DSC_0050

One thing that did get scrapped in this mission that I was a little sad about was the plan for the fluffiness in the “It’s So Fluffy” unicorn.  In theory, a big wad of pink cotton candy was going to create a mane and tale for this adorable little guy – but unfortunately, Winnipeg humidity, cotton candy, and buttercream and fondant do not mix.  I did get one photo-op though just so my vision could be realized, if only for a moment:

DSC_0024

He’s sort of like the Don King of the unicorn-world, right?

One thought on “Wrecks to Success: It’s So Fluffy!!!

Leave a Reply

