You Want What Now?

The ECBF and I took a quick little holiday last week over to what I lovingly refer to as the “cottage” – Las Vegas.  We try to get there a few times a year (or more) and especially when we’re starting to get stressed out with the real world.  We took this trip because we’re both having a tough summer with work, family, etc.. and it is always a nice chance for us to completely divorce ourselves from reality.

The plan was to try out the Red Velvet Bacon Waffles at Comme Ca at the Cosmopolitan.  I put it on my list of things to do while there.  Unfortunately, we were sidetracked and didn’t get there.  So you’ll have to watch for that post in the fall when I try again to get there.  If you’ve ever been to Vegas, you’ve said the words, “it’s just across the street”.  And if you’ve ever been to Vegas, you know that means a major detour.

But it should be worth it for something that looks like this, no?

red-velvet-bacon-waffle-comme-ca-vegas

(photo is courtesy of fuzzynavels.com)

Completely unrelated (well, sort of anyway), we flew through Grand Forks – which we don’t normally do – but the deal was too good to pass up.  Our flight home was early enough in the day that we could spend a couple hours shopping in Grand Forks before driving back to Winnipeg so we picked up our groceries, etc.. while there.  Standing in the baking section of the Super Target (and if you pronounce it “Tar-jay”, I need to know where that originates from – because I always thought it was a Winnipegger thing, but I heard someone in Vegas say it that way so now I’m not sure), ugh, sorry, lost my train of thought there.  Ok, so standing in the baking section, the ECBF points at a box of Betty Crocker yellow cake mix and says, “if you love me, you’ll make that for me”.  Wait.  What?

I can (and do) bake a million different wonderful desserts.  All of which get sampled by the ECBF.  He is my number one fan when it comes to baking.  I’ve made cakes, cupcakes, cookies, galettes, pies, struedels, buns, you name it, for him.  Not to toot my own horn here (toot toot) but I can bake circles around most people, in my sleep, with one hand tied behind my back and while using the other to knock off a work email on my blackberry.   So where in the world is he getting the idea that I should bake him some crummy cake mix?

Well we bought it.  Not only did we buy the mix, we bought the corresponding chocolate “homestyle” (puke) Duncan Hines frosting.  In a can.  Frosting in a can.  With a box of cake mix.  This is what he wants.

I made that cake the very next day.  I made the ECBF dinner because he had to go into the office on the Sunday and I stayed at home.  Typically he does all the cooking in this house (there’s a reason for that – what I’ve got in mad baking skills I completely lack in cooking skills).  Because it was essentially a special occasion, I whipped up the cake for him too.

DSC_0085

So I’ve confessed to you.  I made that cake.  I took pictures of that cake.  And… I ate that cake.  I couldn’t stop.  Despite the gluten, I had to taste it.  It was so moist and fluffy, and delicious.  The cake was gone in 2 days.  It was the best flippin’ cake I’ve had in a long time.  There.  I said it.

DSC_0099 DSC_0096

Leave a Reply

