Chicago Mix, Part II

OMG.

We were in Vegas for the weekend and I accidentally stumbled upon a Garrett’s Popcorn shop.  Whaaaat?  Yes I did.

So the crack-cocaine of the snack world, Chicago Mix, was featured in my blog a couple weeks ago.  You read the post here.  I live the nightmare of a Chicago Mix addiction every day.

Interestingly, I stumbled upon an article recently discussing why we shouldn’t refer to foods as “crack” because it’s classist.  I’ll let you draw your own opinion about this – but you can read the article here.  The article is entitled “No Your Favourite Food Is Not Like Crack”.  I beg to differ, Slate Magazine.  If you can attend a rehab centre in the UK for a Candy Crush Saga addiction, then my friend, I’m certain there will be Chicago Mix Treatment Centres opening up shortly.  I will be the first to sign up.

I was leaving the Costcos yesterday and I was stopped by three different people who saw my Chicago Mix-laden cart and asked me where I found them.  I got the last six bags.  There was almost a riot.  I literally had to shove past a woman who was standing there reading the ingredients and contemplating a purchase.  GET OUT OF THE WAY LADY – I DON’T NEED TO READ THE INGREDIENTS, I NEED THE INGREDIENTS IN MY BELLY.  Obviously my need is greater than yours, ok?

Back to Garrett’s.  They make the popcorn right there.  The caramel popcorn was still warm.  The cheese popcorn was so soft and fresh.  It was an incredible experience.  Sadly, none made it back to Winnipeg.  I did, however, snap a picture in between handfuls.   There may be some cheese powder on the lens, sorry about that.

DSC_0081

In a related story – and bringing the Chicago Mix back in line with the crack metaphor – I got my co-worker @rockox_selinger hooked on the stuff by delivering a bag to him at the office.  I told him the first bag was free.  Now he’s begging at my office door every other day and I’ve been able to charge a premium for the delivery service.  Those of you without Costcos memberships, my email information is to the right.  This may just pay for culinary school, suckers.

photo

Leave a Reply

