The Blond Likes Brownies

The Blond wanted to bake something last weekend.  He started talking about making something and so I said, go ahead and find a recipe and we’ll make it.  So he did.  Awesome.  We workshopped his idea a little bit before he started looking – he was thinking something like a brownie – but with peanut butter in it.  He thought about it some more and decided that he wanted it to be kind of crunchy, like a Crunchie bar, but with peanut butter.  Easy enough.  Online we came across this recipe for Peanut Butter Crunch Brownies.  This was exactly what the Blond was looking for.

It only took a quick trip to the grocery store to get the few ingredients we didn’t readily have on hand and we set to work.

I’m not going to lie – I’m not a brownie kind of girl.  Never have been.  So, despite A Dozen Eggs’ plea that you not use a box brownie mix for the base of this dessert, I had to.  I don’t have a go-to brownie recipe (nor have I ever needed one) and I really like the chocolate chunk boxed brownie mix from Betty Crocker (don’t judge me, I just told you I’m not into brownies).  Also, please keep in mind that I was making this with a 10 year old.  The easier the better.

Well it wouldn’t have mattered, he has (thanks to cooking camp at Red River which you can read all about here) become quite the master in the kitchen.

We put these together in no time, and we’ve been enjoying them for dessert all week.  The good news is, the ECBF doesn’t like the top, so we can share a piece (I eat the top, he eats the bottom, which always makes him say something about Jack Spratt, but I digress).  They were really good.  We used Reese’s cereal puffs in place of the Panda Puffs, but you can get those at Sobey’s and the Blond is a little neurotic when it comes to following a recipe, so he would really prefer it if we made them true to the recipe next time.  Everyone loved them.  They are a definite make-again.

DSC_0359

Leave a Reply

