Just Say No to Cake Pops

I really don’t have a problem with cake pops.  I mean, you have to do something with your leftover cake, right?  Well when I made the Blond’s birthday cake, I had a whackload of leftover cake bits.  I cubed them and was thinking I would recycle the leftovers for a dinner party we were having.  It was a casual thing, and cake pops would be alright… but I wanted something more.

When you have a whackload of cake bits leftover, and you’re looking for something interesting to do with it – consider a trifle.  Our friends at Wikipedia tell us that a trifle is a dessert made from thick custard, fruit, sponge cake and whipped cream, generally with those things layered.

The history of the trifle is pretty interesting actually, again courtesy of Wikipedia:

The earliest use of the name trifle was for a thick cream flavoured with sugar, ginger and rosewater, the recipe for which was published in England, 1596, in a book called “The good huswife’s Jewell” by Thomas Dawson.[1] Sixty years later eggs were added and the custard was poured over alcohol soaked bread.

This good huswife used her leftover cake bits, some custard (made with Bird’s powder), thawed frozen blueberries and peaches, and whipped cream.  I layered each, in order, twice, in the only glass dish I could find – which also doubles as our vegetable dish.  I thought of the blueberries because of the blue cake.

Everybody thought it was pretty great, so I’m pleased, take a look:

DSC_0154

 

I don’t mean to be down on cake pops, I’m just suggesting that there are other alternatives for leftover cake.  Lucky for me, the leftover cake generally takes care of itself around this house.

2 thoughts on “Just Say No to Cake Pops

Leave a Reply

