Recipe: Strueselstravaganza

I have been craving a banana muffin like nobody’s business this past week.  The problem is, if I want a banana muffin, I have to make it myself, you know? (I know, first world problems, for sure).  Anyway, I had some dark disgusting bananas calling my name last night and I just decided to go for it.  Typically, the bananas become muffins or bread for the boys but not this time.  No way, I wanted a good gluten free banana muffin for myself.

I modified an existing banana muffin recipe with my Cloud 9 baking mix.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again here – I’m not at all interested in fake bread or fake flour.  I believe if you want to keep it clean and gluten free, you just have to give it up altogether, rather than trying to live vicariously through rice flour and xanthan gum.   But…if you’re in a pinch and you need to get ‘er done – this baking mix (available at the Costcos) is definitely worth the price tag.

It wasn’t enough to just bake these muffins.  They needed bling.  Do you know what I’m talking about?  The muffin itself wasn’t enough, and so, as icing is the bling to a cupcake, struesel is the bling to a muffin.  No I am not joking.

Who invented struesel anyway?  Well the origins are obviously German – but beyond that it was tough to get to the bottom of it.  Our friends at Wikipedia had little if next to nothing to say on the topic, but an unabridged dictionary leads me to believe that struesel means literally, “strewn”.  So, that sort of makes sense to me – the crumb mixture is strewn across the top of the muffin.  Sort of haphazardly, if you will.  Struesel is typically a mixture of a fat, a flour, and a sugar – but I had to paleo this up so I used flaked unsweetened coconut, good butter, and coconut sugar.

Even the ECBF who is as pro-gluten as they come, thought the texture of these muffins was hella-good.  And they were so pretty he took a picture of them and sent it to his brother.

Nailed it.

DSC_0253

DSC_0261

KK’s Gluten Free Strueselstravaganza Muffins

1 egg

3 large ripe bananas, mashed

1-1/2 cups Cloud 9 Baking Mix

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1/4 cup white granulated sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 bag good quality dark chocolate chips

2 tsp chia seeds

1/2 cup butter, melted and slightly cooled

Topping:

1/4 cup cold butter, in small pieces

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1/4 cup coconut sugar

Preheat oven to 400.  Line muffin cups with 12 liners.

In a medium bowl, mash bananas and combine with egg. In a small bowl, combine Cloud 9 baking mix, sugars, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Add to banana mixture, stirring (do not use mixer) to combine.  Add chia seeds, then slowly incorporate butter, slowly stirring until butter is combined with mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Divide into muffin cups.

In a small bowl, stir together butter pieces, coconut, and coconut flour.  Sprinkle evenly over top of batter in muffin cups.

Bake for 18-22 minutes until tester comes out clean.  Remove from oven and let rest in muffin pan for 10 minutes.  Remove cups from muffin pan and let cool on rack for 20 minutes.  Enjoy.

It has been my experience that gluten free goodies don’t freeze great.  The texture just…changes.  No worries with these muffins though, they won’t last long enough for you to have any to freeze.

Even the most discerning gluten-phile in your life will love these muffins, I promise.

If you give this recipe a try, let me know how you make out!

DSC_0270

xo

Leave a Reply

