Santa was on FIRE this year

I was a lucky girl this Christmas, getting not one but two awesome (and much anticipated) baking-related gifts.  One was a complete surprise and so I was absolutely thrilled.  The other was less of a surprise (but mostly because I wrapped it myself).

Let me tell you about the not-so-suprising gift first because it leads to a product review on something Galen has recently come out with and I’m pretty excited about it.

Santa brought me…(eeeeeeee!)….a creme brûlée torch!  Woot woot!  I have been pining after one for a while now.  It isn’t like they’re hard to find, I knew where to go (D.A. Neil or the Happy Cooker) but I just never had the occasion to do it.  So… I waited.  Well, I’m sorry I waited because it is the best thing ever.  We are a family of creme brûlée lovers.  It is our go-to restaurant dessert when available, and the BIL (Andrew’s brother) makes possibly the best creme brûlée I’ve ever tasted.

Well get this.  Look what Galen came out with (and it’s pretty ingenious, I must say – and no, I’m not just saying that because Galen thought of it).

DSC_0275

Smart, right?  Now, I’m never in favour of buying over baking but if you’ve been reading me for a while, you know that I am always on the lookout for stuff that makes life a little easier, given the time constraints of, well, life.  So, if you ever find yourself in a creme brûlée emergency situation – this is definitely the way to go.  You’re welcome.

It’s pretty neat, actually, each box has two adorable little glass ramekins, each with their own sugar packet.

DSC_0278

You peel back the foil, sprinkle your sugar packet in there and burn baby burn.

DSC_0279

DSC_0280

I won’t lie to you – I’ve had better creme brûlée.  BUT – this is so cute you have to try it.  AND – it really did taste very good.  Smooth and creamy – light vanilla flavour – I’m not a food critic, but it passed the family creme brûlée test (i.e. they all ate it).

And it took all of a minute to make.  Plus, you end up with adorable little glass ramekins after.  Win. Win.

Leave a Reply

