Bianca Amor I Amor You

Two words:

Liquidation SuperCentre

I was on my way home from the Bulk Barns today (spice project, will tell you about it another time) and happened upon something doing at the old Cabela’s location.  The sign now reads: “Bianca Amor’s Liquidation SuperCentre”.  Ummm, yeah!  Pulling in, I didn’t know what to expect.  I have to admit, I was heading home because it was stinking hot out, and I had to go to the bathroom, and I was hungry.  So had I known what was beyond Bianca’s front doors, I would have been more prepared.  With limited time and bladder patience, I walked into what can only be described as WALL TO WALL DEALS, PEOPLE.

I want props for that comma, by the way.  It could have been “deals people” which would have been wrong… oh never mind.

They have a little bit of absolutely everything.  Rugs, electronics, housewares, clothing, furniture, junk, good stuff, you name it it was in there.

I didn’t last long, I was overwhelmed (and like I said, I had to get to a bathroom), so I found one thing and got out of there.  I will be back though, for sure.

They seemed to be clearing out quite a bit of Chicago Metallic bakeware and equipment.  I really like Chicago Metallic – they make good stuff.  So I picked up one of these:

DSC_0122

What’s that, you say?  A chocolate dipping station?  The thing about Bianca Amor’s is, and @Cookie_Steph put it so perfectly: Bianca Amor has so many things I didn’t even know I needed.  Like a chocolate dipping station.  Am I right or am I right?  And for the low low blowout price of:

DSC_0124

I mean COME ON!  How could you pass up the deal of the century like that?  Ok, so I googled it when I got home, and they typically retail for about $20 so I didn’t get that good of a deal, BUT, it’s a cool thing to add to my arsenal, and I hate melting chocolate.  It can be such a pain, and temperamental, especially when you just need a little bit for dipping.  It’s a really nice quality tool, actually. Very much like a crock pot, but pink.

So…

I dug around in the pantry for some of that leftover brick chocolate I always seem to have lying around.

DSC_0121

And I popped it in.

What’s my plan for it?  Well I’m glad you asked.  You see, I’ve become addicted to this absolutely horrible invention called “snacking chocolate”.  Seriously, who thinks of this stuff?  Sadists.  These sadists called “Ripple” invented something called “Bark Thins” and you can check out their website if you’re into that sort of thing.  My favourite flavour is the sea salt and pumpkin seed.  WHO THINKS OF THIS STUFF.

DSC_0129

I like it so much, I’m going to try to recreate it for myself (which the ripple people probably won’t like, but they have basically ruined my life with their highly addictive product so too bad for them).  I only have milk chocolate on hand, but I also have sea salt and pumpkin seeds, so… we’re going to freestyle this.

I melted the chocolate.

DSC_0126

I stirred in the pumpkin seeds and spread it out in a layer.

DSC_0131

I sprinkled the whole thing with sea salt.

And voila!

DSC_0137

It was horrible.  Well, not horrible, but really the milk chocolate was not doing the pumpkin seeds any favours.  Or the sea salt, for that matter.  I think the bitterness of the dark chocolate really does something with the sea salt and pumpkin seeds.  You’re welcome Ripple Brands Collective, you’re welcome.   I’ve managed to save you gazillions of sales.  I’m just another pusher in your network of of underground sales people.

I’m off to the Costcos to get me some more of that stuff.

k

Leave a Reply

