Oh We Are So Sneaky

I’ve blogged before about the Sneaky Chef.  It’s a system we follow here at Casa Tickled Pink because PICKY EATERS.  That’s why.

Well, we had all of our puree ingredients ready to go after the animals were in bed this weekend, and we realized that we had no containers.  The key to sneaky puree is to have little containers ready to go for, you know, the purees to hide in, until you need them.  Well, there’s nowhere to snag little puree vessels in the middle of the night so the ECF came up with a great idea (ok, I didn’t think it was great at first, but keep reading, there’s still time for me to come around) – what if we used the ice cube trays?

DSC_0388

Let me take a step back here.  We recently underwent some major renovations here at CTP, including building the super-kitchen.  One of the coolest things about the super-kitchen is the super-fridge (which in and of itself is a post for another time) and the super-freezer don’t need no stinkin’ ice cube trays.  I have a super-duper ice cube maker thingee now.  So I dug out the old ice-cube trays that were marked for goodwill, and we up-cycled them.

Check out what happened next.

DSC_0390

uhhh, never mind the stovetop (we can blame the ECF for that)…

DSC_0392

But, wait for it…!

DSC_0395

Look at those veg-sicles!  So now, when we need to veg it up – I just need to pop a couple cubes into the recipe.  Green cubes, by the way, hide really nicely in tomato sauce.  If you’re wondering what’s in there, I’ve got spinach, broccoli, zucchini, and peas (and a little bit of unflavoured protein powder).  White (which we make with cauliflower and zucchini and I re-use some of the water I cooked the green’s broccoli in) goes well in (believe it or not) yogurt, sour cream, salad dressing, anything with cheese, like pizza or lasagna.  Orange (sweet potato and carrot) is good in just about everything – tomato soup, chef boyardee anything, kraft dinner…

I know I know, I’m a jerk.  But they’re healthier for it.  😉

xo

Leave a Reply

