Sweet Potato in Disguise

I needed to buy sweet potato on two separate occasions this week.  Weird, I know.  I think I can go months and months without ever needing a sweet potato, but here I was at Galen’s for the second time in seven days, grabbing one.  I still haven’t used the last one I bought, but it was spoken for at home for a puree I was making tonight, so I needed a second.

When I got home from visiting Galen, I put the ECF to work peeling the first one, for the puree.  It wasn’t a minute before he hollered out, “hey, what did you buy?”  What do you mean, what did I buy – I bought a sweet potato, duh.  No, no you couldn’t have, it’s white.  White?  I swear I grabbed it from the bin clearly indicated with the sign that said “Sweet Potatoes”.  And, to be fair, it looked like a sweet potato.

DSC_0399

Am I right?

But it’s white?  So, I suggested I would google it.  The ECF was all over that with: “Oh, right, are you going to google looks like a sweet potato but it’s white?  Yeah, I guess I am, smart guy.  Well, joke was on him, because I started to type in, “looks like a swee—” and google actually suggested “Looks like a sweet potato but is white”.  I guess I’m not the only person with potato problems. And speaking of potato problems, checkout the inappropriately sized knife the ECF was using to chop.

DSC_0397

Well we learned something.

Sweet potatoes come in a  variety of colours.

Wikipedia tells us that:

The plant is a herbaceous perennial vine, bearing alternate heart-shaped or palmately lobed leaves and medium-sizedsympetalous flowers. The edible tuberous root is long and tapered, with a smooth skin whose color ranges between yellow, orange, red, brown, purple, and beige. Its flesh ranges from beige through white, red, pink, violet, yellow, orange, and purple. Sweet potato varieties with white or pale yellow flesh are less sweet and moist than those with red, pink or orange flesh.[5]

Take that, ECF.

While I was checking out sweet potato facts, I made note that sweet potatoes are basically full of good stuff – they are nutritionally a really great vegetable.  So we used it – and it worked great in the puree we were making (it has a milder flavour than it’s orange version).  I can’t wait to spiralize it into some noodles for the boys this week.  Wait til I tell you about that!

Leave a Reply

